Beneath the Smile I Let You See

The smile that you see
Says I’ve got it all together, 
I’ve figured out a way to run,
And there’s no storm that I can’t weather

But underneath the smile,
There’s a sadness and a fear –
And the grin and schmoozing laughter,
Keeps you from getting near.

When all alone, at last, again,
The aching starts to pound –
Covered in the filthy film,
These demons all surround

And with a call the news was shared,
And with a sigh I breathe despair –
And heavy, the coat of shame I wear,
My inward thoughts now only scare

So I must go, retreat – and hold
The aching deep within me –
And struggle on, as best I can 
Beneath the smile I let you see.

Leave a Reply

