Weary 

I can’t get any quieter,
any stiller –
I’m barely moving as it is.
But the thoughts racing through my mind
Are hard to separate from His.

I sit and watch the waves
Crash and toss about 
Yet all their magnificent beauty
Can’t wash away this doubt

Restless and unsettled 
I take a walk alone
Searching for an answer 
for where my hope has gone

The sand beneath my toes 
Grounds me to this space 
I close my eyes and beg for peace 
as tears roll down my face

As the sun goes down on another day
It’ll find its rest tonight
But I will walk away again
More weary from the fight. 

Leave a Reply

