Home – the Song

Lyrics are my mind’s way of expressing what my heart can only speak of through a melody. When my heart and mind are both safe enough to be completely vulnerable, a song is free to grow. I don’t share most of what I write, but this was my first song at 100% in about 8 years. It was birthed from a deep place of sadness, healing, joy and gratitude that I didn’t feel words alone would do justice. I wanted to share more than a handshake or a note, and a song brings me to my most intimate place. It’s emotional and spiritual nakedness, that in this moment was the refuge my soul had been seeking. Home. 

Grateful for a wise, witty and compassionate priest who created a safe place where my heart could heal, and am hopeful for our place in a new community.

HOME 
© 2016 Kaci Allen – For Father Jerry Smith #with

 
V1
MY MIND GETS IN THE WAY
OF WHAT MY HEART WOULD SAY
BUT I JUST SMILE 
SO THEY DON’T NOTICE
THAT I’M REALLY SCARED INSIDE
SO MANY THINGS I TRY TO HIDE
YOU SEE RIGHT THROUGH
 
ALL THE HURT THE TEARS I’VE CRIED
ANOTHER LONELY SLEEPLESS NIGHT
 
BUT SITTING HERE IN FRONT OF YOU
MY HEART FINDS REST AND PEACE
 
CHORUS:
YOU HELPED ME BREATHEYOU LET ME SEE
THERE COULD BE A SAFE PLACE FOR ME
I THOUGHT ALL HOPE WAS LOST
YOU FOUND A WAY
I FELT I BELONGED
IT’S BEEN A WHILE
SINCE I
FELT LIKE I WAS HOME
 
V2
BOY NEWS TRAVELS FAST
NOTHING GOOD SEEMS TO LAST
IT’S HERE THEN GONE
TRY TO SORT THROUGH HOW I FEEL
SUCH LITTLE TIME BUT OH SO REAL
MY HEART IS CHANGED
 
GRACE I NEVER KNEW BEFORE
WASHED OVER ME AND NOW I’M WANTING MORE
 
I OFTEN WONDER WHAT YOU SEE
WHEN YOU’RE LOOKING BACK AT ME BUT I KNOW THIS
 
CHORUS
 
BRIDGE:
SOMEWHERE ACROSS THE MILES,
YOU’LL FIND YOUR PLACE
WHEN I THINK OF YOU
MY HEART WILL SAY.      
 
CHORUS
 
IT’S BEEN A WHILE
BUT I
FEEL LIKE I’M HOME
**RAW VIDEO**


Catch23Performance.com
KaciAllen.com

One thought on “Home – the Song

Leave a Reply

