Losing My Religion

When the religion of your ancestors no longer resonates, the spiritual connection you were designed to experience may begin to emerge.

Losing My Religion

To depart one’s own religion
Is unlike any journey I’ve known
Deciphering messages given
From the voice that is my own

Who is this God of scripture 
How does He walk ‘with‘ me
Or do I walk ‘with‘ Him
I struggle still to see

Forsaking not my core
Morality and truth
Seeking a different way of walking
Transparent, relational sleuth 

Submission to a Rector
Allowing him to teach 
The ability to trust again
May be within my reach

Is it possible to make mistakes
And not fear the wrath of man?
And if they truly know my thoughts
Will they try to understand 
Or will they box me up and label
Damaged, broken, on a shelf 
Will they see me as pathetic 
Should I ever cry out for help

Used to being on my own 
Independent, hardened, strong
Less than perfect equals failure 
Has become the loudest song 

Searching for a savior
Who loves me through my shame
And a path with fellow travelers 
That care to know my name
and believe that what defines me 
Is more than where I’ve been
And see my worth and beauty 
Not negated by my sin

“That’s me in the corner”
Breath just within my reach 
“Losing my religion”
For spiritual rest and peace 
 
  

One thought on “Losing My Religion

  1. Reblogged this on Kaci Allen and commented:

    One year ago… walls began to fall, my heart began to open, slowly, within a wonderful new community. I tested the waters, unsure if we would continue, and one year later, they have become our family, more than anyone, ever before.

Leave a Reply

