Redbird

I heard a redbird sing
His song was pure and sweet
Inviting me to play
When I was far too weak

He sat and paused to look inside
But far to dim it was
To read the crafters lyric well
Of unrequited love

And longing to dance I tried to move,
a fitted suitor within my reach,
Feeling the pain of infant hunger
and protection never to breech

I imagined a day when all was well
and this hell a memory
And just when I thought I’d found a song
He flew away from me

Like snow that covers this trodden path I’m as lost as I’ve ever been
Searching for warmth in the midnight hour
and finding none within

Leave a Reply

