Alone in the Silence

Alone in the silence
my mind isn’t still
Comfort and peace
I can’t seem to will

Trying to hide
My face from the crowd
Questions and platitudes
They’re hurting, too loud

The thing wanted most
I fear just the same
My mind’s going crazy
Can’t see through my shame

Crazy I must be
These thoughts are forbidden
So small I become
The truth is more hidden

Pull my knees to my chest
Lay my arm over head
I can’t stop the reel
Playing all that’s been said

Knowing not how to love
A crap shoot at most
But knowing what it’s not
When hell gets too close

I stretch and I sigh
Cover back in my place
Escaping from daggers
And words of disgrace

Oh to be held
No reason to shine
Except that you love
This broken heart of mine

Leave a Reply

