I AM A PROMISE!!

“Busy People See Fewer Waterfalls.” I got this tweet from Bob Goff, who intentionally lives a life of memorable scenes and is constantly writing a better story for those around him.

I was thinking today about how busy I have been. Work, home, church, being mom, music, and writing, all while trying to pay the bills and start a revolution to change the lives of kids being raised by single parents.

I was talking with someone earlier who told me they didn’t really foresee me actually getting anywhere by asking for people to match the $10 and help make a difference in the lives of single parents. They told me, too many women just sleep around and get pregnant and then expect everyone else to take care of them.

It really frustrated me, but I sort of understand what she was trying to say.

At the same time, it was discouraging to me. I mean, I know for a fact people that don’t know my whole story have looked at me and thought; “harlot.” And it burns me up because there are tons of ways for one to become a single parent. True, one way is to sleep with as many people as you can and eventually one of them will have a good swimmer at the right time that makes it across the finish line and BAM, mom-to-be!

There are also soldiers that have gone off to war and never returned home, leaving small children, sometimes, even a pregnant wife. Divorce. Rape. Tragedy. Adoption. Artificial insemenation. Abandonment. And then there are the single dads!! Their number isn’t as great, but I know plenty of them and the fight with all they have to provide a great life for their little ones.

But despite all those possibilities, one thing doesn’t change, there’s a baby or a child that never asked to be born into a tough situation, they just developed and God stitched them together and made them uniquely wonderful. These are precious lives FULL of purpose and possibility!

When I was 4 I sang in a talent show this song called -“I Am A Promise”

It went something like this:
“I AM A PROMISE
I AM A POSS-I-BILI-TY
I AM A PROMISE
WITH A CAPITAL ‘P’
I AM A GREAT BIG BUNDLE OF
POTENTIALITYYYYYY

AND I AM LEARNING
TO HEAR GOD’S VOICE
AND I AM TRYING
TO MAKE THE RIGHT CHOICE
I AM A PROMISE TO BE
ANYTHING HE WANTS ME TO DO”

And so are these kids!

I guess those that don’t understand it must’ve just had the most incredible parents, the best childhood, never wanted for anything and life has just been perfect for them from day one.

Well, if that’s you, I’d say one of two things, ‘get real’ or ‘get ready!’

Get real and stop hiding from how things have REALLY been like for you, or get ready because if it hasn’t already, the “shitake” is gonna hit the fan at some point. (Hey, I got the shitake part from a preacher friend of mine & thought it was funny when I read it!)

Before I became a single parent, I had a lot of misconceptions about “how they got there,” that were just naïve. I am not sure I would’ve given $10 to a stranger
To go help them out. But now, there aren’t enough $10s to go around because I long so badly to one by one help these parents re-write their story in such a way that their children soar in life and grow up responsible men and women who are walking in their purpose.

Tonight I’m having trouble proofing this. I have had such a bad allergy attack/ sinus infection its making it hard to see. I actually fell asleep while typing, sitting up.

I do know this, we are very limited on the number of days left in our challenge.

Friday evenning, Nicole (an incredible woman I met in our Talmidim small group that meet on Wednesday) and I are going to stop being so busy, and are going to look for waterfalls! 🙂

We are going to seek who we can miniter to, and discover God’s vision for this challenge.

** There is still time to be a part of this!! Please join us here::: www.kaciallen.com/21.html

Please email directly with your thoughts and ideas.

Remember,… You ARE a promise FULL of ability!!

7 Days… Starting Now!
Goodnight!

nashvillewriter @live.com

http://www.kaciallen.com
http://www.twitter.com/kaciallen
http://www.facebook.com/kaciallen
http://www.myspace.com/catch23kaci

Leave a Reply

